NEW HORIZONS & DIRECTION

Home » Uncategorized » Nobody Said Being a Politician Was Going to be Easy

Nobody Said Being a Politician Was Going to be Easy

President Dieter Uchtdorf Quote

President Dieter Uchtdorf Quote

Well, I’m back from a week of vacation (if you can call walking up around 5:00 a.m. and going to bed around 10:00 p.m. every day to go out hunting).  Of course, though, I loved it and wasn’t looking forward to coming home knowing that my Tribe’s elections were underway and that the process was becoming very negative.  Of course during my week absence from the hour and the lack of access to any internet service made for some interesting news when I got back in the area.  It seems that a lot of people have been busy using social media as a tool to spread lies and propaganda and even to the point that a person was upset because they assumed that a statement I made in an earlier blog was about them (even though it wasn’t so I had to address that issue).

It seems that our Tribe’s elections have gone down the course that I was afraid that they were going.  It seems that negative campaigning by some individuals as become their one and only goals.  Instead of trying to find a positive message to put out to our people, they instead want to try to hurt and inflict damage on people using mudslinging as their preferred tactic.  Of course some many remember in an early blog entry I pondered on what I would do if this tactic was used by some people and what should be the best way to respond.

After spending a week in the beautiful outdoors with my family and being able to reflect in a way that can only be done when you are away from everything and coupled with pride and joy I had this week as I wished my nephew goodbye as he heads off to college in the Midwest, I came to a realization for this upcoming election.

I have no desire nor inclination to start any negative campaigning myself because I don’t think that its right for people to try to tear other people down from their own personal or professional ambitions.  I’ve decided that I would rather run on my record from the past four years and the accomplishments that I have done as well as my goal for the future.  Every decision I have made has been done on the philosophy of improving the lives of all tribal members, not just a select few.  I may not have won on every issue that was before myself while on the Council but that is part of politics.  There have also been some decisions that I have made that I didn’t agree with but I am also bound to uphold the Constitution, the laws, and the policies of the Tribe even if I didn’t agree with them.  This is what people who are elected should do and that is put aside their personal biases and be able to look at the needs of the entire community and follow the laws that govern them.

I will, though, respond to the false accusations and propaganda that is being put on in print and social media using my website at jonpishion.com but this doesn’t mean that I have to attack my opponent or anyone else because I have chosen not to be that type of a person.  So regardless of whether I win or loss this election I know that I can hold my head high knowing that I have chosen to run a positive campaign focusing on accomplishment and a vision for the future of my Tribe rather than trying to tear other people down.  There is a quote from President Dieter F. Uchtdorf that I am holding close to me for this election season…”set aside the bottle of bitterness and lift instead the goblet of gratitude”.

Leave a Reply

