NEW HORIZONS & DIRECTION

Home » Uncategorized » Focusing on the Macro and Micro Activities and Trying to Keep It All Together

Focusing on the Macro and Micro Activities and Trying to Keep It All Together

Multitasking

Another hectic week is almost half-way gone.  Sitting down here writing one of blogs for this week got me thinking about all of the work and education related activities that I am handling and whether when you are giving 200% whether something is going to or already has suffered from being spread out too thin.  As my Tribe’s Treasurer I have an ongoing daily function to monitor the activities that are occurring in the three departments that I oversee – Finance, Taxation, and Contracts & Grants (the micro level for me) – coupled with my duties as being an elected official and working to address many of the social, economic, and community needs, issues, and problems that also occur on a daily basis (my macro level).  This doesn’t include time and obligations that are needed as a student in the UNR EMBA Program, as well as the President of the Board of Directors for the Tribe’s Development Corporation.

In the micro level of my position I got to handle employee supervision, procurement requests, monitoring bank levels and investment strategies all the while my handling the macro level activities of addressing public concerns and issues, Council meetings (open, closed, and executive sessions), meetings with various government agencies, and working with the Council to make sure the entire governmental operations are providing the best services to our membership.

At times I wish I had an assistant to help organize and coordinate everything going on like the other two-full-time Council Officers have in their offices.  But other times I realize that as chaotic as it the situation may be, it does make me rise to the occasion and realize that I have to be willing to accept the situation and move forward the best I can.  During any given week there may be an item that may not get handled right away, but I know that in the end it will be handled both correctly and in a manner that doesn’t impact any of my operations and services.  I guess that’s what it’s all about – rising up in the face of adversity (in my case that being all of the obligations I have undertaken) and meeting the challenge head on.  Nobody said life was going to a 9 to 5 job and then go home.  In my position and actually in case of most people I believe we there are many of us in the same position – we got so much going on sometimes keeping up with everything seems impossible.  I guess that I’m one of those people that thrive on the constant level of activity and would be lost without.  But I guess what I’m saying is the drive and passion to move forward and make ourselves better – especially the group of us in the EMBA Program – also the trait that will allow us to succeed no matter where we are going or end up at.  Okay I think that finishes my thoughts for today with some inner reflections (or ramblings) and a final thought that brings it all together (at least I hope).

Leave a Reply

